Wine with dinner: a touch of class for 75 cents a day

Wine with Dinner

What’s the cheapest way to feel like a million bucks at the end of a long day?

Wine with dinner. You know, like a grown-up.

While I have recently resolved to be more frugal with my resources so that I can enjoy more time with my family and with my chosen goof-off pursuits in the future, I have also resolved to make a major change in my dining habits: have at least 1 glass of wine (but not more than 2) almost every night with dinner. For my money there is no better way to end a long day in the drudge, brighten an otherwise humble meal, or make me feel like an unqualified success than having a glass of wine with dinner.

You scoff: yes, John, for YOUR money, but that’s too rich for my blood. P’shaw, I retort.

Trader Joe’s near my neighborhood sells this wonderful stuff from the Charles Shaw vineyard, affectionately named “Three-Buck Chuck”. It comes in several red and white varietals, and it’s delicious table wine.

(In California it’s called Two-Buck Chuck, but I reckon gas prices and shipping to Minnesota account for the extra Buck, Chuck.)

And if you get bored with that, or simply want to show off, there are plenty of other great wines there for $4 and up. One of my personal faves is the J.W. Morris Gewurztraminer, $3.99.

A typical bottle of wine pours 4 glasses, so at 75 cents a glass, you can significantly and affordably improve the quality of your life by having a glass of wine with dinner every night.

Call to action: find the nearest Trader Joe’s or other purveyor of discount table wine, bring home a bottle for dinner, and see if I’m wrong.

Trust me, store brand mac & cheese never tasted more sophisticated. Bon appetit!

Leave a Reply

